Club News 25/7/14   25/07/2014


There was no winner of the Crossmolina GAA Club lotto jackpot on Saturday night 19th July. The numbers were 5, 8, 29, 31. There were two match 3 tickets. Helen Keane, St Marys Park and Sharon & Kieran Traynor were the winners. The draw took place in Hineys Bar. This weeks jackpot is €2,150. Many thanks for all your support.


Mayo G.A.A. Senior Football League - Division 1A
Sat, 26 Jul, Venue: Fr. O'Hara Park, (Round: Round 6), Charlestown Sarsfields V Crossmolina Deel Rovers 19:00, Ref: Ronan Gurren

Minor Summer League 2B
Fri, 25 Jul, Venue: Crossmolina , (Round: Round 5), Crossmolina Deel Rovers V Islandeady 19:00, Ref: Benny Holmes
U14 North Mayo Championship Rd 2
Thurs, 24th July, Venue Moygownagh, Ardmoy Vs Crossmolina, @ 7pm, Ref Sean McHale.






Mayo G.A.A. Senior Football Championship - Group 1
Sun, 20 Jul, Venue: Crossmolina , (Round: Round 3), Crossmolina Deel Rovers V Ballintubber 14:00, Ref: Ronan Gurren
Crossmolina       1 – 02
Ballintubber        2 – 18
After a opening nine minutes of testing each other out and a couple of missed chances with Jason Gibbons off with a facial injury and Alan Dillon coming on as sub. Cillian O’Connor pointed a free.  Jason Gibbons returned but it was his partner Stephen Brodrick who was dictating the midfield area with a powerhouse display that saw him cover every blade of grass in St Tiernans Park over the sixty minutes. Damien Coleman, Ray Geraghty and Gary Loftus all pointed from play. Kevin Mulhern pointed a 45 in the 20th minute for his sides opening score. Two further points from Cillian O’Connor just before the break left the half time score 0 – 6 to 0 – 1.
It was not a big lead but Cillian O’Connor soon added to that tally with four points, three from play and one free in the first few minutes of the second half. Declan Keating did kick a point from play after 11 minutes for the home side. The writing was on the wall for the Deel-Rovers and Alan Plunkett came on as a sub raced through for a goal with his first involvement in the play after 20 minutes.  Jason Gibbons, Cillian O’Connor, Ray Geraghty, Gary Loftus with a point each and three from Alan Plunkett, plus an Alan Dillon goal, availing of a ball that was going over the bar which Shane Keane stopped but the slippery ball spilled from his grasp into grateful hands of Dillon for a simple tap into the net. The same player added a point minutes later. Crossmolina made a couple of late attacks. A free resulted and as the visitors defenders and goalkeeper prepared for a short free up stepped Ciaran McDonald and drove an unstoppable shot inside Brendan Walsh’s left hand post The score board tells its own tale once Ballintubber got into their stride their was only going to be one result       
Ballintubber;  Brendan Walsh, Gary Loftus (0 – 2), Paul Early, Brian Murphy, Michael Plunkett, Cathal Hallinan, Ruairi O’Connor, Jason Gibbons (0 – 1), Stephen Brodrick, Damien Colman (0 – 1), Diarmuid O’Connor, Daire Summerville, Ray Geraghty (0 – 2), Cillian O’Connor (0 – 8), Padraic O’Connor.
Subs;  Alan Dillon Blood for Jason Gibbons,  Alan Plunkett for Diarmuid O’Connor, Declan Larkin for Brian Murphy, Alan Dillon for Padraic O’Connor, Joe Geraghty for Cillian O’Connor, Myles Kelly for Michael Plunkett. 
Crossmolina team; Shane Keane, Chris Myles, Stephen Duffy, Jonathan O’Boyle, John Garrett, Stephen O’Malley, Peadar Gardiner, Henry McLoughlin, Paul Duffy, Kevin Mulhern (0 – 1),  Declan Keating  (0 – 1), Michael Gallagher, Brian Benson, Ciaran McDonald (1 – 0), Derek Hegarty.
Subs Martin McAndrew for Stephen O’Malley, James Cafferty for Kevin Mulhern, Hugh Cafferty for John Garrett, Thomas Cafferty for Chris Myles.
Match Report PJ Hughes.

Mayo G.A.A. Junior Football Championship - Group 4
Sun, 20 Jul, Venue: Crossmolina , (Round: Round 3), Crossmolina Deel Rovers V Ballintubber 16:00, Ref: Gerry Carmody
Crossmolina Deel Rovers                   2-12
Ballintubber                                      2-05
After blistering opening five minutes in which Eddie Burke Ballintubber’s full forward pointed from play, Keith Hopkins cancelled it out for Crossmolina, then Ballintubbers  Stephen Finnerty picked up a ball out side 45 ran through the heart of the Cossmolina defence to drive the ball past goalkeeper Patrick Loftus. From the kick out the ball was quickly driven in to Joe Keane who rounded Alan Larkin and plant the ball in the net. Shane McKinley picked up a loose ball drove at the defence before crossing to Joe Keane who first timed to the net. Darren Flannery and John Duffy pulled points back. It was the home side took control Nigel Caden pointed two frees, Keith Hopkins added two more, one from play. Nigel Caden and Jason Murphy added points to leave the half time score 2 – 7 to 1 – 3.
After the break Nigel Caden and Keith Hopkins extended the lead with points each. John Duffy and Conor Finnerty in the 8th and 22nd minutes tacked on points. Jason Murphy made one of his trade mark runs into the forwards to shoot a point. Nigel Lynn from a free. Tommy Kilcoyne grabbed a goal for the visitors in the 27th minute, but a precious point from sub Kieran Traynor saw Crossmolina edge out favourite’s Ardnaree on scoring difference to advance to the quarter-finals of the Mayo Junior Championship
Crossmolina; Patrick Loftus, Barry Murphy, Ciaran O Boyle (Cpt), Noel Hegarty, David Howley, Kevin McHugh, Jason Murphy (0-01), Colm Reilly, Brendan Birrane, Shane McKinley (0-01), JP Mulhern (0-01), Keith Hopkins (0-04), Nigel Caden (0-04), Joe Keane Snr (2-00),  Colm McDonnell.
Subs; Kieran Traynor (0-01), Jordan Flynn (0-01), Nigel Lynn.
U/16 Championship 2A
Tue, 15 Jul, Venue: St. Joseph's Park, (Round: Round 3), Knockmore V Crossmolina Deel Rovers 19:00, Ref: Vincent Neary
Knockmore                                         1-06
Crossmolina Deel Rovers                     1-11
Crossmolina U16  team continued their good form with a hard earned five points win over Knockmore in St Josephs Park on Tuesday of last week after leading by 1 – 6 to 1 – 2 at the break. The Deel Siders maintained their dominance to and ran out winners by 1 – 11 to 1 – 6 Crossmolina team and scorers T.J.McFadden Keith Gilroy Jason Lynn Luke Fergus Sean Canavan Niall Maughan Sean Caden Darren Caden Conor Rowland Fergal Duffy 0 – 1 Gary Hopkins Darragh Gill 0 – 1 Gary Lynn 0 – 2 Jordan Flynn 1 – 1 Ronan Lavelle 0 – 6
Match Report PJ Hughes.


Other News

Summer Camp
GAA Summer Cúl Camp at St Tiernans Park 28th July - 1st Aug 2014. For Boys & Girls aged 6 - 13 yrs. Register online Ml Hegarty 0872046722.
U6 Gaelic: training for Boys and Girls continues on Mondays 6.30 -7.30pm in the St Tiernans Park Sports Hall.
U8 Gaelic: training for Boys continues Mondays from 6 - 7.00pm at St Tiernans Park.
U10 Gaelic: training for Boys continues Mondays from 6.15 - 7.15pm at Crossmolina National School pitch




There was one winner of the Lotto Jackpot on Saturday night 19th January 2019. Liam & Regina Naughton were the lucky JACKPOT winners and win €3,000. The draw took place in Maughan’s Bar. Many thanks for your continued support.

Smart Lotto


Useful Links