Site Search

U15s win 2014 Mayo Division 3 League Title   03/11/2014

U/15 Division 3 Final
Sun, 02 Nov, Venue: James Stephens Park, Ballina, (Round: Final), Castlebar Mitchels Football V Crossmolina Deel Rovers 14:00, Ref: Benny Holmes


Crossmolina Deel Rovers                              5-06

Castlebar Mitchels                                           2-14


Crossmolina captured their third County U15 title at a wet and windy James Stephens Park on Sunday2/11/14, the previous titles were won in 1994 and 2012. The latest title did not look possible after two minutes of play when Castlebar playing against a strong breeze grabbed the first score, a goal from their Captain Gavin Durcan. Crossmolina held their composure and a few minutes later a shot from Darren Gill struck the crossbar and the ball dropped into the gratefull hands of Colm Hegarty who drove it past a helpless Miguel Martin in the Mitchells goal. Daragh Gill got on the score board again with a point. Stephen Martin replied with three points for the Mitchalls, before Keelan Hegarty grabbed his sides second goal after a great run in the 18th minute. With Shane Howley and Niall Maughan driving forward at every opportunity, Ronan Lavelle struck a rich vein of scoring with 2 – 2 in the space of nine minutes. Brian Walsh, Gavin Durcan and Ruairi Nevin pulled back points each to leave the half time score 4 – 3 to 1 – 7.


Castlebar now favoured by the elements tacked on three points from Gavin Durcan, Ruairi Nevin and Brian Walsh in the opening 12 minutes of the second half. Brian Walsh gave his side the lead with a goal in the 46th minutes and Shane Hegarty added a point. The Deel Siders had shown  great fighting spirits throughout this league and this was never more evident than in these last ten minuets when Keelan Hegarty pointed after a great run, Ronan Lavelle pointed a free to tie the score and then Darren Gill for Crossmolina and Gavin Durcan for the Mitchells exchanged points. With just a few minutes on the clock Keelan Hegarty drove home his sides fifth goal and a three points advantage. Castlebar threw everything at Deel siders defence. Durcan did score two points but the all important goal chances were defended as if their lives depended on it. Conor Caden and Daniel Howley made great interceptions to deny The Mitchels scores, all the defenders were heroic throughout as were all the players who played a team effort. Sean McEil secretary of Mayo Bord Na Nog presented the Shield to Niall Maughan the winner Catpain.


Sean Gallagher, Luke Fergus, Patrick Howley, Sean Canavan, Ferghal Duffy, Cian O'Boyle, Darragh Ruane, Shane Howley, Niall Maughan (Cpt), Eoin McDonnell, Keelan Hegarty (2-01), Lorcan Loftus, Darragh Gill (0-02), Colm Hegarty (1-00), Ronan Lavelle (2-03)

Subs used: conor caden for Sean Canavan, Daniel Howley for Daragh Ruane, Sean Canavan for Eoin McDonnell.

Subs not used; Patrick Gallagher, Anthony Leonard,

Coaches; Damian Syron, Enda Lavelle, Steven Rowland




No winner, four punters matched three numbers, Jimmy Reynolds, Dermot & Sarah Butler, Marie Haran and Jhn Williams & Jason Devanney, each win €30. The draw took place in The Thatch Bar. Many thanks for your continued support.

Smart Lotto


Useful Links